All college students and employees operating a motor vehicle on college property must comply with the following:
- Register the vehicle.
- Secure a current parking permit.
- Display the parking permit on the vehicle.
Parking permits may be obtained in the Public Safety building from 8:00am - 8:00pm, Monday - Friday. Permits are free of charge.
- Applicants must provide a valid driver's license and license plate number of the vehicle to be registered.
- All vehicles must pass Arizona state emissions tests.
- Parking permits must be permanently affixed on the front inside or the lower left back side of driver's windshield.
- On motorized cycles, the permit shall be affixed where it can be seen without difficulty on the front fender or fork.
- Temporary permits shall be placed on the dashboard or rear view mirror so they are easily visible from the outside.
- Short-term parking may be used to conduct business in a college facility for a set time limit.
- Parking in a disabled parking space is allowed only with a designated permit issued by the state of Arizona.
- Red curbs indicate no-parking zones. Parking in red zones, entrances to buildings, driveways, in front of garbage dumpsters, fire lanes, and fire hydrants is prohibited.
- Driving and/or parking in areas not designated for use is prohibited.
- Blocking pedestrian paths, sidewalks, crosswalks, striped safety zones and bicycle paths is prohibited.
- Impeding or obstructing properly parked or moving vehicles is prohibited.
- Parking motorized bicycles is allowed in designated areas only.
- Vehicle operators must park within the space lines.
- In diagonal spaces, vehicles must be parked facing the center line. Driving through or backing into diagonal spaces is not allowed.
- The maximum speed limit in all college parking lots is 10 mph.
Driving vehicles or bicycles on pedestrian paths and sidewalks is prohibited.
- Accidents involving vehicles on college property must be reported to Public Safety.
- All Arizona State laws governing the movement and operation of motor vehicles are adopted by the MCCCD Governing Board for the control of vehicles on college property.
Violations & Fines
- Violating disabled parking stall or access - $50.00
- Parking in a fire lane - $50.00
- Removing a barricade or failure to obey a vehicle control device - $15.00
- Parking in an unauthorized parking area - $25.00
- All other parking violations - $5.00
- Improperly displaying a parking permit - $5.00
- Failure to register a vehicle and display a parking permit - $30.00
- Falsifying information on the registration application - $50.00
All fines are doubled if not paid within 15 working days of the date issued. Persons violating regulations are also subject to:
- Institutional discipline
- Vehicle towing
- Withdrawal or suspension of parking privileges
- Encumbrance of records
- Oral or written reprimands
College students and employees have first priority to parking spaces.
If you experience a parking problem, contact a Public Safety officer during regular business hours by calling (602) 286-8911.