Academic Calendar

2020-2021 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2020
  • Wednesday, Aug. 19 & Saturday Aug. 22 - New Student Orientation 
  • Friday, Aug. 14 - New Faculty Orientation; First Day of Faculty Accountability
  • Monday, Aug. 17 - GW All Employee Meeting
  • Tuesday, Aug. 18 - Faculty/Instructor In-Service Day 
  • Saturday, Aug. 22 - Saturday Registration (9 a.m. - 1 p.m.)
  • Saturday, Aug. 22 - Classes Begin; Official Start Date of Semester
  • Monday, Sep. 7 - Labor Day, Campus Closed
  • Monday, Oct. 5 - Spring 2021 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
  • Monday, Oct. 12 - Spring 2021 Open Registration Begins
  • Sunday, Nov. 1 - Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
  • Sunday, Nov. 1 - Graduation and Certificate Application Deadline
  • Wednesday, Nov. 11 - Veterans Day Observance, Campus Closed
  • Thursday, Nov. 26 – Sunday, Nov. 29 - Thanksgiving Holiday, Campus Closed 
  • Monday, Dec. 14 – Thursday, Dec. 17 - Final Exams 
  • Friday, Dec. 18 - Mid-Year Recess Begins for Students 
  • Monday, Dec. 21 - Grades Due
  • Friday, Dec. 25 - Sunday, Jan. 3 - Winter Break, Campus Closed
Spring Semester 2021
  • Monday, Jan. 4 - Campus Re-Opens
  • Wednesday, Jan 13 & Saturday, Jan. 16 - New Student Orientation (tentative) 
  • Monday, Jan. 11 - Faculty/Instructor Convocation; First Day of Faculty Accountability
  • Friday, Jan. 15 - GW Day of Learning
  • Saturday, Jan. 16 - Saturday Registration (9 a.m. - 1 p.m.) 
  • Saturday, Jan. 16 - Classes Begin (Saturday) – Official Start Date of Semester
  • Monday, Jan. 18 - Martin Luther King Day Observance, Campus Closed
  • Monday, Feb. 15 - President's Day Observance, Campus Closed
  • Monday, March 1 - Summer/Fall 2021 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students 
  • Monday, March 1 - Graduation and Certificate Application Deadline 
  • Tuesday, March 2 - Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
  • Monday, March 15 – Sunday, March 21 - Spring Break, No Classes Scheduled
  • Thursday, March 18 & Friday, March 19 - Spring Break, Campus Closed
  • Monday, March 15 - Fall 2021 Open Registration Begins
  • Monday, May 10 – Wednesday, May 12 - Final Exams 
  • Wednesday, May 12 or Thursday, May 13 - Commencement 
  • Monday, May 17 - Grades Due 
  • Monday, May 31 - Memorial Day Holiday, Campus Closed 
Summer Semester 2021
  • Tuesday, June 1 - Classes Begin
  • Tuesday, June 1 - Graduation and Certification Application Deadline
  • Monday, July 5 – Wednesday, July 7 - Summer Break for Clock Hour Programs Only
  • Monday, July 5 - Independence Day Holiday, Campus Closed 
  • Thursday, Aug. 5 - Classed End
  • Monday, Aug. 9 - Grades Due