Faculty Senate

The purposes of the Gateway Community College Faculty Senate shall be to:

Faculty Senate for Spring 2020

  • Serve as the exclusive representative of the GateWay Community College faculty of the college administration in academic and professional matters and policy development.
  • Advise the College President on matters of importance to the college and faculty; promote communication, collaboration, and education among the faculty and between the faculty and other groups.
  • Maintain and promote the standards and ideals of the profession.
  • Serve as the voice of the faculty in shared governance.
  • To select representatives to serve on administrative councils and on coordinating committees of the faculties of the college and district.
  • Protect and preserve academic freedom.
  • Participate in the formation and implementation of educational policies for the college and the district.
  • Provide an open forum for the free discussion of academic and professional issues.

Faculty Senate Members

 
President

Dr. Joseph Swaba - swaba@gatewaycc.edu

President Elect

Dr. Kelly Romirowsky - kelly.romirowsky@gatewaycc.edu

 
Members

Ferdinand Hunter - hunter@gatewaycc.edu

Beth Malapanes, M.L.S., M.I.L.S. - beth.malapanes@gatewaycc.edu

Christopher Mims, M.Ed., MA - mims@gatewaycc.edu

Douglas Walker, MS - walkerd@gatewaycc.edu

Frank Zamora, M.Ed - zamoraf@gatewaycc.edu

Dr. Sandra Hinski - sandra.hinski@gatewaycc.edu

Heidi Hutchins - hutchins@gatewaycc.edu

Jim Kenney - james.kenney@gatewaycc.edu

Herb Wildey - herb.wildey@gatewaycc.edu