Maricopa Emergency Management System Alert

Due to building damage caused by weather, the Deer Valley location (29th Ave. & Bell Road) is closed until further notice. Students attending that location will receive further direction from their instructors. Visit the News page for details and updates or follow us on social media.

Faculty Senate

The purposes of the Gateway Community College Faculty Senate shall be to:

Faculty Senate for Spring 2020

  • Serve as the exclusive representative of the GateWay Community College faculty of the college administration in academic and professional matters and policy development.
  • Advise the College President on matters of importance to the college and faculty; promote communication, collaboration, and education among the faculty and between the faculty and other groups.
  • Maintain and promote the standards and ideals of the profession.
  • Serve as the voice of the faculty in shared governance.
  • To select representatives to serve on administrative councils and on coordinating committees of the faculties of the college and district.
  • Protect and preserve academic freedom.
  • Participate in the formation and implementation of educational policies for the college and the district.
  • Provide an open forum for the free discussion of academic and professional issues.

Faculty Senate Members

 
President

Dr. Kelly Romirowsky - kelly.romirowsky@gatewaycc.edu

President Elect

Herb Wildey, B.S., M.S. - herb.wildey@gatewaycc.edu

 
Members

Christopher Mims - mims@gatewaycc.edu

Soren Hammerschmidt, Ph.D. - soren.hammerschmidt@gatewaycc.edu

Saroj Chirravuri, B.S., M.S., M.N.S. - chirravuri@gatewaycc.edu

Jim Kenney - james.kenney@gatewaycc.edu

Frank Zamora, M.Ed - zamoraf@gatewaycc.edu

Tracey Schartz - tracey.schartz@gatewaycc.edu

Peter Zawicki, P.T., M.S. - zawicki@gatewaycc.edu

Heidi Hutchins, M.B.A., M.H.A. - hutchins@gatewaycc.edu