Academic & Student Affairs

Faculty Senate

The purposes of the Gateway Community College Faculty Senate shall be to:

  • Faculty Senate for Fall 2016Serve as the exclusive representative of the GateWay Community College faculty of the college administration in academic and professional matters and policy development.
  • Advise the College President on matters of importance to the college and faculty; promote communication, collaboration, and education among the faculty and between the faculty and other groups.
  • Maintain and promote the standards and ideals of the profession.
  • Serve as the voice of the faculty in shared governance.
  • To select representatives to serve on administrative councils and on coordinating committees of the faculties of the college and district.
  • Protect and preserve academic freedom.
  • Participate in the formation and implementation of educational policies for the college and the district.
  • Provide an open forum for the free discussion of academic and professional issues.

Faculty Senate Members


Matt Jolly -

President Elect

Joseph Swaba, MA, M.Ed., Ed.D. -




Suzanne Clifford, MSC/ED, RN -


Bryan Dodd, M.Ed, RDMS, RVT, RT(R) -

Ferdinand Hunter -

Bradley Johnson, M.Ed, RT(R), ARRT -

Beth Malapanes, M.L.S., M.I.L.S. -

Shannon McGrath, MA -

Christopher Mims, M.Ed., MA -

Kathryn Patterson -

Douglas Walker, MS -

Frank Zamora, M.Ed -